• Olympic park - the Agora, S.Calatrava, 2004

  • Benaki museum, A.Kourkoulas-M.Kokkinou, 2004 / national bank of Greece headquarters, M.Botta-M.Papanikolaou-R.Sakellaridou, 2002 / Onassis cultural center, Architecture Studio, 2004-10

  • Acropolis museum, B.Tschumi, 2003-07 / Olympic stadium, S.Calatrava, 2004 / pedestrian bridge, S.Calatrava, 2004

  • Office building, Dimitris Isaias - Tasis Papaioannou, 1999 / Semiramis hotel, Karim Rashid, 2004


Contemporary Athens

Despite the economical crisis, new projects continue to enrich the city’s structure.
Such private institutions as banks, cultural foundations, insurance firms and construction companies affect the development of the city by investing in their image through architecture. Interesting projects, made by well known Greek and foreign architects, are the result of this trend: among them, the new administration building of the National Bank of Greece, by Mario Botta with Morpho Papanikolaou and Rena Sakellaridou, and the building of the National Insurance Company,by the same team, the new Benaki museum by Maria Kokkinou and Andreas Kourkoulas,the Cultural center of Onassis foundation, by the French team, Architecture Studio and the future realization of the new opera and the new national library by Renzo Piano, financed by the Niarhos Foundation.

Such important public projects, as the Olympic complex by Santiago Calatrava, and the new Acropolis museum by Bernard Tchumi complete this list of works of contemporary architecture.

national bank of greece headquarters, Morpho Papanikolaou/ Rena Sakellaridou/ Mario Botta, 2002
olympic stadium, park, velodrome, Santiago Calatrava, 2004
pedestrian bridge, Santiago Calatrava, 2004
semiramis hotel, Karim Rashid, 2004
nat. insurance company’s headquarters, Mario Botta/Morpho Papanikolaou /Rena Sakellaridou/2003–05
benaki museum, Maria Kokkinou / Andreas Kourkoulas, 2001-2004
museum of acropolis, Bernard Tschumi, 2003-2007
Onassis cultural center,Architecture Studio, 2004-10
new hotel, Fernando & Humberto Campana, 2011